The Legend of The Missing Subtitle

Ok, so there’s really no legend. I just can’t think of a better title for the post.😄.

Anyway I was happily marathoning a Korean drama. I just finished an episode and the next one automatically played… 1 minute… 2 minutes… 3 minutes… 4 minutes… then the character said a sentence that I’ve come across My Name Is Kim Sam Soon novel I am currently reading and translating. I know what the sentence mean but it doesn’t sound very natural when I translated it literally to English. “Wait! What’s the best way to say it in English?” So, curious as to how it was subbed, I paused my video player and pressed the rewind button so I can “read again” the subtitles carefully. I will probably have to edit my translation to phrase it better in English…

The video played.

Subtitles didn’t appear!

Apparently I have been watching without subtitles for a whole 4-minute. I forgot to rename the subtitle file for the next episode so my video player didn’t pick it up automatically.

This is not really the first time it happened to me. Usually because of not renaming my subtitles properly subs won’t appear on the next episode. I would only notice it once I had that ‘wait-what-did-she-say-again’ moment on the first few moments. But this time I was really surprised when no subtitles appeared after I played the video again. I have been understanding everything completely I really thought I had my subtitles on. It makes me wonder, if I didn’t rewind it, how far I can go watching without subtitles?

I actually noticed that on this latest drama that I’m watching, I’m listening more than reading the English subtitles. I’m glad I’m also improving on my listening skills (even if I’m not working hard on it lately – I’m reading more these days while trying to get my mouth do its job). But I’m still far from letting my subtitles go. Not yet. I’m still very much dependent on them. But I can’t wait to finally let them go.

It feels like when I was first learning how to ride a bicycle. Riding a bike is difficult and scary. Just like most kids learning how to bike for the first time, I needed my grandfather’s help so he used to hold the rear of the bike for me while I try to pedal. Aware that someone’s holding it for me, I kept pedaling. But there are moments I didn’t know he already let go minutes ago. However the moment I found out he is no longer holding my bike, I panicked and wobbled and fell down. Even if I managed to bike on my own a few minutes ago, I wouldn’t start until I know somebody’s holding it for me. Eventually, after lots of efforts, I learned how to bike – racing after boys, standing on it and sometimes I don’t hold the bike handles for fun!

Just like in watching my dramas, I still need help from subtitles. I can survive a few minutes without it especially when I’m aware that I don’t have them. But the moment I realize they are not on, I panic and put them on again. But I believe, eventually I’ll let go of them. Soon!🙂

6 thoughts on “The Legend of The Missing Subtitle

  1. Hehehe! Just let it go, trust me.😛 i know how hard it is and i used to feel insecure that way too. Hehe. Im sure u’ll keep improving also, but sometimes the best way to improve alot at one go requires u to make that big step forward! ^^

  2. Woot! That’s pretty cool!😀

    I like having the subs there while I try to just listen & ignore their presence, coz once I encounter something I don’t understand, I can quickly check the subs for the translation ^^

  3. I like the way you put it! It’s true and that happened to me recently cos I watched this Japanese animation online not realizing that there are no subs until I was talking to a friend and he asked me for the link to it. It was upon finding the link that I realized that there are no subs!

    I’m sure you can do it! Fighting! Keep learning and keep trying. Will be looking forward to your post on no subs! ^^

  4. What a great feeling! Congrats! I agree with another commenter , just turn ’em off and see how you do. Worse case scenario you have to rewatch a half hour segment with subtitles on.

Leave a Reply

