Facebook in Korean

Deadlines for thesis and other papers are getting nearer and I am still far from finishing half of them. So I decided to pause my me2day and not to log-in to my Facebook often.

I have a tendency to stay online 24/7. I tried plugging out the internet and it only made me fell asleep. I thought of deactivating my Facebook but I don’t want to stop stalking someone miss important updates from important people and friends. So I decided to create a new account with just selected friends. That way, I’ll check my main Facebook account when I log in, spend maybe just 15 minutes checking notifications and answering messages and then log-out. And log-in to my new account and stay logged in forever. It’s more quiet now, very few notifications and fewer new newsfeeds. I can still stalk get updates from really close friends, I can post status and they can comment. Bottomline is, it is not taking too much of my time anymore. On my main Facebook account I have so many friends, there are a lot of new interesting (and uninteresting) things on my newsfeed and a lot of notifications waiting to be clicked.

Anyway, the exciting part is, I also changed my new Facebook account’s language to Korean. And it was awesome! I still have no confidence changing my entire computer system to Korean. I only changed my phone setting to Korean a year or two ago; and my me2day, Naverblog, Nate On and our Daum fancafe have always been in Korean and now Facebook. And it was not difficult afterall. Of course there are many words that are new to me, but I’m too familiar with Facebook, I guess, thus I know my way around and I’m now learning new words. I’ll definitely change my main Facebook account to Korean too when I become active at it again… 125 days from now. ^^

7 thoughts on “Facebook in Korean

  1. Good luck! I also thought you had been awefully quiet on here for a while. I did the same at some point, just not logging into facebook and I even created a skype alter-ego that only my parents and siblings know. The scary thing is how the fingers suddenly type “facebook” when you open a browser window in one of your breaks, and you didn’t even intend to – it’s just a habit! That’s when you begin to question “I could stop tomorrow if I wanted to!”…

    • Haha. So that’s how you call it – an alter-ego. So I created a Facebook alter-ego.🙂 My homepage is set to Facebook actually.😦 But the facebook alter-ego is working wonders for me so far.

  2. Hmm… I maybe consider changing my Facebook to Korean…Haha… but I thinking I also need to remember how to change it back just in case😄
    Good luck in your exam! ^^

    • As long as you know the word 언어 then I guess you’re good to go. Not just on Facebook but also on any other application/software/interface that you would like to change to Korean. A classmate in our beginner class accidentally changed her itunes to Korean and thanked us, linguistics majors. She said she was able to figure out how to change it back to English because she remembered 언어 from us – students of 언어학

  3. You are so lucky ^^! I I was reading a bunch of your blog posts, enough to learn you are from the Philippines!!! Same with me! But I live in New York City here in America, where I wish I was in Korea right now😦 I want to get into an exchange program and go to Korea!!! But I will miss yummy food from here😦 Do you have any advice for exchange students?

    • Hi! Nice to meet a fellow Filipino! Why don’t you try. You said you wish you were in Korea. So it means you love/like Korea. Then you might get used to and might also love Korean food eventually. There are also American food in Korea anyway (though I’m not sure how authentic their ‘American taste’ are) so I guess you’ll survive.

      Tips? I don’t think I have any. But I have some ‘requests’ to exchange students because I badly wanted to be one (Alright, I WAS an exchange student but for a very short period of time only so I’m still quite envious with other exchange students on a full semester or academic year). 1.) Enjoy every bit of it. Some exchange students I know spent all their energies complaining here and there (especially Westerners – not that I’m generalizing but it’s probably because the culture and the environment is totally different from theirs). A bit of a research will do prior to the trip. I’ve been reading about Korea for years before I went on exchange and nothing feels foreign to me when I was there (not sure if that’s actually a good or bad thing. XD). 2.) Explore. Some exchange students I know spent their free time inside their dorms (then complain on Facebook that they are bored)! Gah! There are soooo many things to do in Korea and money should never be an issue (well, it is an issue, but lack of it shouldn’t stop anyone from exploring. there are loads of parks and beautiful places to see. you can walk around your university. i once explored the entire perimeter of our university with just coins in my wallet and I learned a lot about the area – which was very beneficial because I learned where to get what and how to go where) 3.) Grab the opportunity to use and learn Korean! I find it really 아깝다 whenever I see students returning on exchange and haven’t improved on their Korean. It’s the best environment to practice and use Korean.

      If someone gets a chance to go on exchange, I wish they’ll make the most out of it because there are actually a lot of other students who are not as lucky as them but are dying to actually be on their shoes (*bitter me! XD).

Leave a Reply

