[Learning Korean with Kim Sun Ah] V – ㄹ 수밖에 없다 There is no choice but to…

NOTE: As I’ve mentioned I’m starting to make studying Korean more fun by learning from Kim Sun Ah’s dramas. This may be too over the top (?) but I’m sure other Kim Sun Ah fans who’s learning Korean can find it interesting (and I know a number of her fans are learning Korean too).

DISCLAIMER: This is not really posted as a lesson and I have no intention of teaching anyone – leave that to the awesome TTMIK teachers. Simply take this as my personal ‘open’ notebook that I just want to share to anyone who’s interested. And since this is ‘personal’ the grammar points and vocabs cater to my own need alone. ^^

If you are already familiar with the V – ㄹ 수 있다/없다 and 밖에 it’s not difficult to get what V – ㄹ 수밖에 없다 means.

This pattern denotes a lack of choice or that one has no choice but to do something. It can be used to establish a reason for an outcome. – Bonewso Korean Grammar

My Name Is Kim Sam Soon

Episode 3: After Sam Soon agreed to the contract relationship, Jin Heon explains to her that they not only have to make his mom believe that they are really a couple, but they have to deceive her spy too – and unfortunately no one knows who the spy is, therefore they must trick everyone.

진헌: 나사장을 속일려면 스파이도 속여야 되요. 문제는 그게 누군지 모른다는 겁니다. 그러니 전직원 보는 앞에서 연애하는 척을 할 수 밖에 없어요.

Jin Heon: If we are going to trick/deceive President Nah (mom), then we must also trick her spy. The problems is we don’t know who the spy is. Therefore we have no choice but to pretend as lovers in front of all the employees.

속이다 – (verb) to deceive, cheat, trick, fool

전직원 – (noun) all employees

척하다 – (verb) to pretend

City Hall

Episode 1: Mi Rae suddenly felt the urge to use Jo Guk’s bathroom, but unfortunately the toilet was clogged!!!

미래 : 변기가 오래 됐나 봐요. 물이 잘… 죄송해요. 저지를 수밖에 없었어요.

Mi Rae: Seems like the toilet is old. The water doesn’t really… I’m sorry. There was nothing I could do about it.

변기 – (noun) toilet

And my most favorite (I would probably never forget this pattern all because of this scene):

Scent Of A Woman

Episode 7: Eun Seok confronts Yeon Jae and asked her why she let herself get misunderstood. As Yeon Jae tries to explain, she ended up confessing her feelings towards the currently eavesdropping Ji Wook. ♥

연재: 집 앞에 갔었어! 고맙다고 말하고 싶어서. 아니 고맙다고 말하러 가서… 그 핑계로 얼굴 한 번 더 보고 싶어서. 근데 못했어. 너무 보고 싶었는데… 그냥 돌아올 수밖에 없었어.

은석: 무슨 말이야? 너 혹시, 아까 그 남자… 좋아하니?

연재: 안 그러고 싶은데 그게 잘 안 돼. 그 사람이… 너무 좋아.

Yeon Jae: I went to his house because I wanted say thanks to him. No, going there to say thanks was just an excuse to see him again. But I couldn’t do it. I really wanted to see him but… I have no other choice but to just turn back.

Eun Seok: What do you mean? Do you perhaps like that guy (that we saw) earlier?

Yeon Jae: I didn’t want to to be like this but I can’t help it. That person… I really like him.

♥ awww~

2 thoughts on “[Learning Korean with Kim Sun Ah] V – ㄹ 수밖에 없다 There is no choice but to…

Leave a Reply

