Learning Mandarin: Beyond our class

In learning Korean, I want to greedily learn each and every thing I encounter. Beyond books, beyond classes. I want to be able to talk to my Korean friends confidently. I want to talk to Kim Sun Ah. I want to understand my Korean dramas without subtitles. I want to understand news and books. I want to say my opinions and thoughts. I want to spazz. In Korean.

Though I’m enjoying Mandarin, I have no intention of learning beyond the required lessons in our class. I don’t want anything more than getting a decent grade in class. Yup, not even a high grade. Just a decent one will do. That’s it.

But after finishing our textbook in advanced, I craved for more to complement what I’ve learned. I ended up finishing the Language Cast Chinese Lesson podcasts  . Then I also saw some quick lessons from Chinese Tools, and ended up finishing the first few lessons. Then I also follow video podcasts of ihcahieh. And I said that’s it and that would be all for now. I’ll just review our class textbook over and over and I’ll be good to go.

But then I thought it would be more helpful if I can find the audio file of our textbook. That way, I can listen to it anytime and improve my pronunciation and tones and help me remember vocabs.

I don’t know the title of our textbook (yes, welcome to the University of the Philippines where we photocopy our books!). I tried searching for it, but I can’t find it. So I decided to ask my laoshi. She told what was the title but asked me why I was asking. So I told her I want to find the audio file of the book. She told me that unfortunately she doesn’t have it either but she can lend me a different book with an audio CD.

Uh-oh! I have no intentions of studying another book. I’d rather study Korean. I’m just hoping I can find the audio file for our textbook. I also don’t want to give an impression that I’m very interested in studying Mandarin. I just want to do ok in class. No more no less. But how can I decline such an offer coming from my laoshi?

She lent me New Practical Chinese Reader Textbook 1.

And I’m loving the book and been listening to the audio file over and over. I can’t thank my laoshi enough!

But this will be the last, I swear. I just want to study more Korean. And finish my linguistics papers on time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

