Lessons learned from Korean Dramas

If you’ve noticed, I have some Korean passages on the upper right-hand side of my blog.

The first one is not really a Korean passage, but was popularized (in the K-drama world) through My Name Is Kim Sam Soon.

춤추라, 아무도 바라보고 있지 않은 것처럼.
사랑하라, 한번도 상처받지 않은 것처럼.
노래하라, 아무도 듣고 있지 않은 것처럼.
일하라, 돈이 필요하지 않은 것처럼.
살라, 오늘이 마지막 날인 것처럼.

Dance like no one’s watching.
Love like you’ve never been hurt.
Sing like no one’s listening.
Work like you don’t need the money.
Live like today’s the last day of your life.

And the other one is a rough translation of what girlfriday wrote on her Scent Of A Woman recaps on Dramabeans.

오늘이 인생의 마지막 날인듯 사는게 아니고,
내일이 또 오듯이 하루하루를 살라!

Don’t just live each day as if it were your last.
Live each day as if you have a tomorrow.

These are what keeping me going for years (actually the first one only, since the second one is a recent one). And I started “living” again while holding unto these inspirational quotes.

But it looks like I’ve forgotten these words and I’ve been getting more and more depressed these past weeks (or months perhaps). I’ve been depressed because I was worrying about many things. I was worrying about my mistakes. I was worrying about the future. I was worrying what other people will say or think. I was scared of failure. And most of all, I was scared of possible disappointments. I was so scared of getting hurt without me realizing that I’ve been hurting myself by sulking, and wasting my precious days by being anxious every freaking minute – over something that is not even happening yet – and worst it may not even happen at all! I’ve tried many things to lift my spirit up but my depression was just too bad that nothing seems to work.

How can I fail to notice that what I needed most is glaring at me at the upper right-hand corner of my blog!

The hell to what other people will say, I will do the things that I want to do. If I make a mistake, then I’ll correct it. If things won’t happen the way I want it to, then so be it. If I get hurt because of it, then I’ll cry. Plain and simple. I really don’t understand why I have a tendency of complicating things. O.o

I’m way better now. I haven’t had a good cry, but I don’t think I need it. I really feel better and my heart feels lighter. Thanks 지구고냥이님 for reminding me these important lessons we learned from 선아언니의 드라마. I will try my best not to forget these anymore. ^_^

One thought on “Lessons learned from Korean Dramas

  1. I have a Korean drama I can relate the most.That is Personal Preference(개인의 취향)
    개인 is cheerful,clumsy,innocent,trustful,sometimes doesn’t believe in herself,her ability,longs for her dad’s affection, and yet 진호 came into her life as a friend .It’s so fitting in my life.My Korean bf came into my life when I thought I could be contented in not having a lover .He’s strict in me,telling me that I should be strong,that I shouldn’t be hard on myself,almost exactly how 진호 acted towards 개인.Isn’t amazing how a drama reflects our life..How a drama inspires us…?

Leave a Reply

