My Ode to Scent Of A Woman

by donnapie

So, this is really it.

We’re really down to the final  homestretch and just like Yeonjae who has a heavy feeling in her heart  while watching the days of her life tick away, I too have the same  feeling of burden weighing deep in my chest over the fact that a few  days from now i would have to say goodbye to this drama that has meant a  lot to me.

Perhaps, it is the underlying story in this show that had ingrained it into my consciousness more than that of others.

It  might be due to the fact that it deals with things that are all  familiar and dear to all of us like life, death and love that makes it  harder  to say goodbye and which makes it difficult to let it go.

But  more than that, i think it is the way in how the scriptwriters wrote  this show and how the actors portrayed their roles that brought a sense  of realness to these characters as if they really exist in real life and  that makes us feel like we we really know them and that they are people  who are really close to us.

I cried when Hee Joo died because i felt as if i also lost a little sister.

I  smiled at Eun Seok’s rediscovery of his sense of compassion because he  is a great doctor and i know that with it, he can become even greater.

I hate Saekyung with a vengeance with no need for explanations and I  think Sookyung is a mother with faults but one who shows her love for  her daughter in such a unique and heartfelt way that i can’t help but  worry for her now that she knows of Yeonjae’s illness.

I cheer for Yeonjae to beat cancer because she has so much left to live for.

My  heart skips a beat whenever i see JiWook show his love for Yeonjae  because he does it without boundaries and without limits that i wish  everybody could find a love like that at least even once in their entire  lifetime.

I can’t help but feel overwhelming emotions of tenderness whenever i  see Yeonjae and Jiwook together because their love is the kind that is  supposed to last a lifetime but couldn’t.

To say that i’d miss this drama is an understatement.

I  will be pining for it, longing for it, remembering it for a long time  and i have a strong feeling that it will make other dramas that i’d  watch after this pale in comparison because of the high standards that  it has set in terms of how  it has stirred my emotions.

I will truly miss a lot of things from Scent of a Woman.

I’d  miss the spazzing that goes on in the soompi forums and on  tumblr  where i found a sense of belonging and camaraderie from everyone that  share the same passion for this drama that i have.

I’d miss  reading the recaps from dramabeans website the day after the drama airs  and scouring each and every one of the comments to laugh at some, shake  my head violently in disagreement at others and nod my head in  understanding at most.

I’d miss watching the show live through  livestream and reading through live comments and recaps as they come  violently and furiously from one to the next that my head is almost  spinning because i can’t keep up.

I’d miss Hye Won and how good  of a friend she is to Yeonjae that even if she was quick to judge her at  first, she’s made up for that mistake by more than a thousandfold by  being so supportive to her and to Ji Wook as well afterwards.

I’d  miss Ramses and Veronica and the tango studio and how just seeing  Jiwook and Yeonjae together there already brings butterflies to my  stomach because i know what’s next to come.

I’d miss Kang Ji Wook.   A guy who can show his real feelings without  fear and who is not afraid to cry in front of the woman he loves  because he is man enough to admit that his tears are not a sign of  weakness but rather an evidence of how much love he feels for her.

I’d  miss his one thousand and one facial expressions, the look of sheer  happiness on his face when Yeonjae calls him or meets him, the  dumbfounded expression on his face when she does something that  surprises him,  the look of desire that passes over his eyes when they  dance the tango or when he goes in for a kiss, the blissful smile he has  on when Yeonjae is in his arms and how peaceful he looks just being  with her  that somehow it’s as if you can tell that he’s found his  heaven just by having her in his embrace.

I’d miss Yeonjae and her courageous battle for her life and for the person she loves.

She  has truly inspired me in a lot of ways and even if she’s had moments  when she had shown her vulnerability and her humanity, there are more  times when she made her life count in ways that are beyond imaginable.

I  applaud her selflessness in  making sure that in her last few remaining  days on earth she had tried to make sure that that life not just remain  valuable to her but that it would also leave a lasting impression and a  positive change to all of the people that she will be leaving behind.

I’d miss Kang Ji Wook and Yeon Jae together.

With  their love that’s formidable and so strong and that chemistry so  combustible that no one can contest that no other two people belong more  together and is more deserving of a life lived that ends in happily  ever after.

But most of all, I will be missing seeing my OTP Kim Sun ah and Lee Dong Wook,  together.

The  fact that i long for them week after week after week and the fact that  even just a simple gesture from them can make me smile definitely makes  the waiting worth it. They have as much chemistry as their onscreen  characters and it amazes me to see how they can work with such a heavy  storyline and yet the moment the cameras are off, they are always shown  to be having fun together and just basically caring for each other.

Yes,  there were moments when this show had hurt me.  In more ways than one  by the amount of heartbreak and angst and sometimes disappointment that  it has brought me.  And yet like a lover who makes amends, along with  the bitter comes the sweet and when it makes up to me, it makes it up to  me in more ways than one.

Saying goodbye had never really been my strongest suit.

I’ve  known since the beginning that there will come a time that all this has  to end but now goodbye seems more imminent than ever.

I can’t  help but feel sad about the things i’ve mentioned above which i will  also be leaving behind as this show comes to a close.

But in my heart i know that like Yeon Jae’s illness,  sometimes, goodbyes are also necessary in order for us to grow.

Though  others might laugh at how i am so affected since Scent of A woman is  just a drama anyway, it has truly changed me and it has left me with a  valuable gift that i would treasure forever…

The realization  that we should live life without regrets and that we should live  everyday with the intention of becoming great people not just for our  sake but for the sake of others whose lives we’d also touch as well…

So Thank you Scent of a Woman, Thank You Kang Ji Wook.  Thank You Lee Yeonjae.

For  the lessons that you’ve imparted and for making me want to make the  most out of my life and for reminding me that everyday is a day that  should be lived to the fullest.

Now, if you guys can just hold me while i cry and sob and undergo therapy once this show is over?

Group Hug?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Ode to Scent Of A Woman

  1. i found the link to this drama coincidentally. sow is the second drama of l.d.wook that i had watched after my girl. again, he never upsets me with his astounding acting ^^

    • I’m not a fan, but he became one of my favorites after Scent Of A Woman. And I love him because he is nice and I still can’t forget his voice when he asked me what my name is. My heart just keeps fluttering whenever I remember his ‘handsome’ voice.🙂

Leave a Reply

