g.o.d. is love

I could recite Korean drama dialogues and sing Korean drama OSTs but when it comes to K-pop I’m helpless. I thought G-Dragon is a girl (thanks to the Secret Big Bang). I can’t distinguish Wonder Girls from SNSD (unless one of them sings either Tell Me, Nobody, Gee or Oh). If Kim Sun Ah didn’t dance Sorry Sorry in City Hall, I wouldn’t know Super Junior. I only know 2NE1 because of Sandara Park (and if we hadn’t performed I Don’t Care last semester I wouldn’t know who CL, Minzy and Bom are).

I love listening to music but I guess I’m just not really into the music scene. Be it local, Korean or American. My playlist is full of Korean Drama/Movie OSTs. And whenever I go to 노래방 with my friends or classmates, I usually have no idea what they were singing, and they have no clue with my song choices either.

Recently I was introduced to 2AM because I got their Saint O’ Clock album from the Korean Speech Contest that I joined. I find their ballads really nice and have included them on my playlist. But it was nothing special to me.

But last night, I was searching random stuff in youtube and got myself checking out g.o.d.. I know and have heard a lot about them in the past. But I haven’t tried listening to any of their songs before. After listening to two songs I’m officially in love with them!

And no! This has got nothing to do with Kim Sun Ah. Although I know a long time ago that Kim Sun Ah started training with them and was supposed to be one of the original g.o.d. members (Yup! When G.O.D was formed, it was supposed to be five guys plus a girl to form a six-member-group. And they were supposed to be named G.O.D Six) and these lovely boys often calls her 형 instead of 누나, it’s got nothing to do with me liking them. In fact I’m glad that Park Jin Young decided to take Kim Sun Ah out of the group. I kinda hate him for doing that because my Suna Unnie must have been hurt, but I’m truly grateful too because 1 ). I wouldn’t have “met” Kim Sam Soon and the rest of her lovely drama/movie characters if Suna Unnie pursued (*chokes*) singing and 2.) I couldn’t imagine g.o.d. with Kim Sun Ah!!!

If I'm not mistaken, this is from "The Last" concert of g.o.d. This is not Kim Sun Ah, but Jung Sun Ah (a theater actress) playing as Kim Sun Ah. They are apparently re-enacting some fictional events among g.o.d. members (re-enacting fictional events? go figure!). I think they are implying that Danny Ahn kissed Kim Sun Ah back in the days, but they are both saying it was not true and this 'scene' is just fictional.

I like their style. I think their music and voices are very soothing (who has that very husky and deep voice?), be it a ballad, disco, R&B, or a pop song. I listen to their music until I fall asleep last night.

I guess I finally found my K-pop group!

I don’t think I’ll go to the extent of saving all their images, researching their biographies, watching their interviews and all that jazz. But I’ll definitely keep listening to their lovely music (and probably watch their MVs and perfs once in a while).

recent photo

지오디, 만나서 정말 반가워요. ♥ I hope they’ll have a reunion album or concert soon.🙂

One thought on “g.o.d. is love

  1. Pingback: 꺄악~! | My Korean Corner

Leave a Reply

