Palace Language

I was never a fan of saeguk dramas. 1.) They are usually very long and 2.) they sound strange. I’ve only seen the first two episodes of Jewel In The Palace because it was a part of my My Name Is Kim Sam Soon DVD and Queen Seon Deok Chuseok Special. I was planning to watch Queen Seon Deok simply because I adore Ms. Go (Hyun-Jung). But ended up not watching it too.

Our short Korean play is actually an old Philippine legend that we translated to Korean. We have characters such as kings, princes, healer, etc. After we wrote the first draft, our 선생님 suggested that we use other forms such as -(으)렴, – (으)ㄴ/는 단다, -거라, -(느)냐? Our 도우미들 revised the script and used additional forms such as -옵니다, – 옵소서.

It was very difficult and strange for us. I have to say 걱정하지 마시옵소서 but I’m so used to 걱정하지 마세요 or at least 걱정하지 마십시오. And 것입니다s are not 것이옵니다.

I was having a difficulty with my intonation. I don’t know how a healer should talk. Definitely not in a Kim Sam Soon intonation, right? So I decided to take a quick peak at my mom’s Queen Seon Deok DVD.

Little did I know that I would enjoy Queen Seon Deok that much. Simply because I get to recognize right away their -옵소서 and -옵니다 on every other sentence.

And finally I get to appreciate our play. Actually I didn’t want to do the play. I just want to join the speech contest. However we are required to do the play so I was left with no other choice. But now I’m grateful that I am also doing the play. If not, I don’t think I’ll get a chance to learn these “palace languages”.

I guess the first drama that I’ll watch after the finals would be a saeguk one.

My only problem now is that I’m getting confused whenever I shift from my speech to the play. I have lots of 것입니다 on my speech, but 것이옵니다 on the play. And I kinda interchange them once in a while. 😦

One thought on “Palace Language

  1. Pingback: Palace Language 2 | My Korean Corner

Leave a Reply

