Avoidance Strategy – Guilty!

I’m currently reading “Understanding Language” by Elizabeth Grace Winkler. I’ve read about it from Shanna’s blog Hangukdrama and Korean. And I’m loving it. I dove into Linguistics last semester a bit unprepared and was overwhelmed with advanced reading materials. Don’t get me wrong. I did enjoy the readings, but some stuff are just so difficult to comprehend. It actually would have been better had I come across this book before I started taking Linguistics classes. Nonetheless, it’s still very helpful now. It’s an easy read and I didn’t realize that I’m almost halfway through it.

I came across the chapter about language acquisition earlier and I can’t help but see myself doing the avoidance strategy – all the time! Instead of using new grammars introduced in class, I have a tendency to use simpler grammar that I’m more comfortable with. And sometimes, when feeling lazy, I resort to answering 안니에요. 없어요. and 몰라요 instead of trying to express my real thoughts. I also tend to avoid using irregular verbs, as much as possible, so that I wouldn’t have to bother on how to conjugate. I’m such a lazy student, aren’t I? This unhealthy practice needs to change – right now!

—-

Also, just a few minutes ago, I received a text message from my Korean professor. She told me that I was chosen as one of the finalist in the Korean Speech Contest in our university. I should be happy. But, I don’t know… I somehow expected that I’ll be a finalist (because I’m the only one from the Upper Beginner class, I think, that joined, thank you dear classmates!) that’s why I actually started memorizing my speech last week. But somehow, now that it’s confirmed I’m sort of feeling pressured and stressed already. I only have less than 30 days (26 days to be exact) to prepare. And aside from that I have a lot to do for my other subjects. I have to memorize 150 languages (names and provinces), short play dialogues, 3 major papers, tons of readings and finals are fast approaching as well. I don’t really wish of winning the contest. I joined simply because I think this is the best opportunity for me to finally improve my speaking skills. But of course, I don’t want to mess up and make a fool out of myself either.

I thought I can stay at home the entire day tomorrow. But I have to go to school tomorrow to meet my professor and my coach. I’ll probably just take advantage of the time and go to the library tomorrow and start on my papers. Life!

One thought on “Avoidance Strategy – Guilty!

  1. I know what you mean… The same thing happens to me with Japanese. It’s easier to use simple grammar estructures, and what’s more, that way I’m sure that there are no mistakes. But I don’t learn that way…

Leave a Reply

