Listening to K-dramas

This started as a comment in Hangukdrama and Korean blog’s Learning Languages – a revolutionary approach entry. And after clicking the POST COMMENT button, I was surprised that it was really long and that it looks like a blog entry itself. So why don’t I blog it anyway? (edited some parts)

I watch Korean movies and dramas, and started listening to Korean songs (mostly Drama OSTs) on my computer, ipod and cellphone. I listen to podcast lessons too, if I have time.

And just recently, I decided to LISTEN to Korean dramas. I just went back to school and, although Korean classes are part of my current curriculum, it still means lesser time to study self-study Korean. AND lesser time to watch Korean dramas (sad!). I usually have my music on whatever I do (review for an exam, reading readings, writing a report, going to and from school), so I thought, why not listen to dramas instead? I extracted the audio of my favorite drama (My Name Is Kim Sam Soon and later on will listen to City Hall too – yey!) and I listen to it while studying, and while on my way to and from school. Sometimes even during classes if I can sneak it.

At the moment, it doesn’t matter whether I understand everything or nothing at all. I just familiarize myself with the sounds, intonation, expressions, speed. I get to pick up vocabs and grammar patterns too as I listen, intentionally or unintentionally. At the same time I get to enjoy listening to Kim Sun-Ah‘s voice. And I also get to memorize some lines from the drama too.

Recently I started studying the scripts too. My Korean is still not good that’s why I’m still lost with a lot of grammar patterns that I don’t know. So I’m focusing on vocabs for the mean time. It’s fun when you get to recognize a pattern you just learned as you listen. And it’s also equally fun, when you are in class and a new grammar or vocab is being introduce and you remember it from the drama. For me it makes my remember grammar or vocabs easier – especially if it was Kim Sun-Ah who said it! 🙂

Of course this method will only work for some people. It may sound really boring, but since I’m so addicted to a My Name Is Kim Sam Soon and City Hall. I wouldn’t mind listening to it over and over until I memorize all the lines. ㅋㅋㅋ

Funny thing though, I was told, about 3 times already, by 3 different groups of Korean friends, at 3 different times, that I sound very much like Kim Sam-Soon. Hmm… would I sound like Mi-Rae when I start listening to City Hall?

So I guess it’s a proof that you’ll get to pick up something from listening. I was not mimicking Sam-Soon at all. I don’t even know how to mimic her. It just came out naturally.

And this is exactly my concern when I start learning Japanese next semester. I am not exposed at all to Japanese. In my lifetime, I think I’ve only seen 2 Japanese dramas, 1 anime series and no more than 20 Japanese movies. I have 6 Japanese songs out of my 500+ Korean songs in my netbook (and no Japanese song in my ipod) and I don’t remember the last time I played any of them. ㅋㅋㅋ My only motivation: Kim Sun-Ah speaks fluent Japanese. So i guess I just have to watch video clips and interviews of her speaking Japanese over and over and over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

