Jeju Island

I have to finish writing a speech today in Korean. I have to write about a place in the Philippines or Korea. I find the topic a bit difficult because I usually write speeches about stuff that I am familiar with and I have experienced. For a homebody like me who rarely travel, this is quite a challenge.

If I’m going to write about a place in the Philippines, I wouldn’t know what place I should choose. My hometown? There’s nothing much to say about it. Manila? Possible. But I’m not that interested. Pagudpud? It’s pretty and all but I’m not really familiar with the place.

If I’m going to write about a place in Korea, what do I know about it? I haven’t been to Korea.

Can I write about Taiwan instead? Please….

I wish I can talk about Korean Dramas instead.

Then I suddenly got the idea of talking about Jeju Island – using My Name Is Kim Sam Soon’s famous confession scene as part of my introduction.

Finally, I have decided to talk about Jeju Island. However I still can’t get my ideas organized for the speech.

I am currently researching about Jeju Island and the idea of it being magical strikes me most.

Wait! Magical? Jeju Island? Secret Garden! 좋다! 좋은 아이디어! I love it. I just hope I can make it work.

But would that mean I have to let go of my first idea? I hope I can still include it. I’ve been anticipating to wear a dress similar to Sam-Soon’s after all.

Leave a Reply

