Puberty

Puberty. The awkward stage when you are no longer a child, but is not quite an adult either. And I would like to consider my Korean is at that stage right now.

It’s been a few months since I last watched a Korean drama. And it was so much fun watching one again (especially since it’s Secret Garden!). And I was surprised with myself that I can actually understand much much more this time. I still definitely can’t get by without the aid of the subtitles and it was just too weird and uneasy too. A sentence that I can understand completely will be followed by a sentence whose grammar pattern I understand but not the vocabs, then will immediately be followed by a sentence whose words I know, but will be completely lost with the grammar pattern used. And what’s annoying is when these sentences just keeps alternating.

It also makes my drama viewing longer this time. Sometimes when things are easier to understand I get carried away that I fixed my gaze on the actors and/or the scenes and I will get caught off-guard with a sentence that I do not understand and will just realized it when the subtitles has disappeared already, thus having to rewind the scene. And sometimes I hear something familiar (or something new) that I want to confirm (or learn), thus another rewind. And sometimes I have to pause it while I consult a dictionary.

Although I’m at an annoying stage, it was really fun. In fact sometimes I get teary-eyed if I was able to unexpectedly understand something completely. Call me nuts, but it’s true! I guess I’m just a little too overwhelmed sometimes.

I can’t wait for the time when I can watch dramas without any subtitles. I know it’s going to take a lot of time, patience and hardships but this has been, and always will be, one of my motivations in learning the language.

 

WORD OF THE DAY:

사춘기 – puberty

One thought on “Puberty

  1. I totally agree. I’m on this situation a lot of times before. It’s not that I can understand dramas now but I prefer to watch dramas using the subtitles and not really focusing on the grammar or the words that I can learn while watching them. I’m too preoccupied with the story that I don’t bother with learning Korean anymore. ㅎㅎ

Leave a Reply

