Taking the Plunge

Since I have no interest in Hyun Bin (outside My Name Is Kim Sam Soon), I didn’t even bother checking Secret Garden – until I heard about the “Kim Sun-Ah call-out” on Episode 1. I immediately stopped whatever I was currently downloading and started downloading episode 1. I guess I just missed Suna Unnie so much that a simple call-out was enough to make me go nuts.

Then my jaw just dropped! It was very stupid of me not to know that this a Kim Eun-Sook drama!!! Darn! How could I miss that when, right after seeing – and falling in love with her in City Hall, I swore that I’m going to follow all her dramas from that point forward. The last I heard about her was her collaboration (guidance?) with a new writer (her former assistant) for My Princess. Was I really so busy with school that I missed something this big?

I guess so. School works just keep piling up that I just download the drama without even taking a glance at it.

As days and weeks pass by the more I hear about this drama. From blogs, facebook, twitter, classmates and friends. It gained a lot of popularity – in Korea, in the Internet (foreign fans), at school (Korean class classmates, Korean friends).

I was known as the “source” of Secret Garden in our school’s International Center (for foreign exchange students) since I always give my Korean friends copies of it yet. Earlier I even received an unwarranted cheery smile from a Korean exchange student when he was told that the copies were from me and that I brought the final episode. Ironically, I haven’t seen a single episode.

Time to give it a try?

Javabeans recapped it. She was so excited about it in the beginning despite the fact that she is not really into Kim Eun-Sook. However she doesn’t seem to enjoy it that much anymore towards the last half. She is the one who always give me chills whenever I read what she wrote about My Name Is Kim Sam Soon (poignant and funny and worth the hype). She who likes Boys Over Flower (that I will never ever like) and who never uttered a single word about City Hall.

Girlfriday, who considers My Name Is Kim Sam Soon as the closest drama to her heart was not wowed by this.

Ockoala who thinks My Name Is Kim Sam Soon is perfect and adores City Hall to the fullest doesn’t like this at all and was disappointed.

Tarits who shared my City Hall addiction, loves it but was not moved with the characters.

Elisa, another City Haller, loves just the story part.

These girls makes me think now. How about me? Me who considers My Name Is Kim Sam Soon as the best thing that ever happened in the K-drama world and holds City Hall close to my heart.

With the exception of My Name Is Kim Sam Soon, I’m not really into the popular dramas and/or young dramas. I’m not really into Hyun Bin, unless of course if he is being Sam-Shik. Ha Ji-Won is nothing to me compared to my lovely Kim Sun-Ah. But I loooove Kim Eun-Sook so much. I enjoyed On Air too (and is still trying to watch, re-watch and continue watching her earlier dramas – though I believe that City Hall is her best drama to date).

Will I like this? LOVE this? Hate this? I guess I would never find the answer until I watch it. And more than the drama itself, I’m more curious now as to what would be my reaction after watching it.

그럼, now at 2:30 AM, despite the busy crazy school schedule and with a 말하기 시험, readings, a paper and a job interview later today, I’m going to take the plunge… 하나, 둘, 셋!

2 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge

Leave a Reply

